Songs by
Jacob Greenleaf


For a variety of reasons, I have elected to do my own recording at home, rather than employing a studio. This has the benefits of being available whenever I want to work on it, costing less per use, and providing me with the great flexibility that you only get from self-direction. The primary drawback, however, is that since I am not a professional recording engineer, I really don't know what I'm doing, so my learning process is probably audible in the tracks. Several of the songs on Rustless really show my inexperience with the equipment. I may update them as I feel like taking time to do so.



  1. Superman
  2. Lost Love
  3. Bedtime Songs
  4. The Hunt
  5. When I Think About You
  6. Going Anyway
  7. Where Are You
  8. Jack Pine
  9. Rustless
  10. Make it Real

My first album has been quite long in coming, as I've spent a great deal more time figuring things out than I have spent getting useful work done on it. Most of these songs have been written since before 2010, and so the struggle of working through them has been doubled by feeling much more interested in working on newer compositions. Nevertheless, I feel like this is a pretty solid product for an amateur tinkerer. Here is hoping that you enjoy listening to it as much as I enjoyed making it.

Doing it myself

As a truely rank amateur recordist, I didn't want to waste anyone's time but my own trying to track real musicians - at least on Rustless. So every one of the instruments played hereon is being played by me. In the future I am likely to get some of the "Pros from Dover" to come and play sessions to save me time and aggravation, but for this first record, I take great pride in being the only one playing, engineering, and mixing.